Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership is a critical topic and always been in discussion. The crystal clear principles and objectives of a leader makes him a good leader. An effective leader has mission and vision for the team, the same apply to political leaders also. It can't be strongly stated that a political leaders have to yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise or an effective leader has to be consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Sometimes, it totally depend on situation, which a county or state is facing, and a political leader need to act accordingly, he/she can't always get influenced by public opinion or stay committed to his principles, even these are hindering growth of country.

Now days, we are hearing one topic almost everyday in the news, especially in US election campaigns, which is is gay marriages. There are more people who are against then for it. Former US president, Brack Obama understood and analyzed the whole situation and legalized gay marriages. The president didn't act out of majority public opinion and abandon his principles, that he is president of democratic country, which gives right of life, liberty and pursuit of happiness to everyone. On the other side, elected president Donald Trump is willing revoke gay marriages law, as he against it. That is his principles which are leading him to this decision, and if he follows that then he will take away that right of pursuit of happiness from some US citizens.

Another example, The prime minister of India, Narinder Modi, he just banned five hundred and thousand bills in the country and brought country in a crisis mode. He didn't think about public before passing this law, which is now effecting country's economy so badly. This might be his principle not take opionion from public, but public has to face this difficulty in money exchange. On this decision, if he would have given time to public to give their opinion then things would have been different.

Thus, in conclusion, a good leader is who can understand and analyze the need of country when there is need for pubic opinion and to abandon principle for the sake of compromise and when to stay committed to his principles and objectives.