"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

While Buckingham Collage want to build new dormitories for students, however it can't be concluded from presented argument. Argument is rife of holes and assumptions. It states that Buckingham Collage should build new dormitories to serve housing need for students because Buckingham's enrollment is growing and will double in next 50 year, based on current trends, and housing in the city is expensive and difficult to afford for students. Author concluded that attractive new dormitories will attract new student to Buckingham.

Data is missing about increasing enrollment of students based on current trends. What current trends author is considering, is it current year data only or it includes data is collected and compared from past few years to study growing number of students. It is not very cogent from the argument that if enrollment will double in next 50 years, then college need to build new dormitories now only. There is no information presented that show if currently enrolled students are facing housing problems or not. More information required to check whether number of enrolling students percentage is similar to students who are graduating from college or it is more, how much more. This information will be helpful to understand how severe housing problem is.

Author assumes that if average rent of an apartment has risen in the city then students might face hardship in affording off-campus housing. In the argument housing rent in the city is not compared with the on-campus housing to show which one is currently more expensive for students. Students might want to share off-campus apartment which might be cheaper than living on-campus. There could be a possibility that all the apartment buildings are not expensive, some buildings might not be luxurious and can be cheaper or students might get student discount on renting apartment.

There is a contradiction in the argument Buckingham's enrollment is growing and it will be double in next 50 years and new dormitories will make prospective students to enroll. If Students enrollment is already growing then why college need to make extra efforts to attract students.

There is no analysis shown in the argument, what students want, whether they like to stay on campus or off campus. Data is also missing about out of total enrolled students, how many need housing. There could is possibility that most of the enrolled students in the college are from same city or neighboring cities who don't need housing.

From above analysis, it is very clear that build new dormitories just because students enrollment is going to increase in future can't be concluded. More information need to gathered and analyzed and there are many open ended questions required to be answered. Above analysis can make argument weak, therefore conclusion largely has to be supported by more concrete data, not on surmises.