Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Change is the law of nature and it brings new energy. This is true in any field such as business, politics, education, and government, but it is questionable that changing leadership every five years is the surest path of success. The leader can be changed after few years and new can be appointed, and before appointing them their ability to lead a big business, organization or a country need to be tested throughly. In any big organization leadership can't be changed just because it has to be changed every five years to make sure success. There are many examples which presents changing leadership just for the sake of change caused disaster in the society.

In USA, every four years elections happen and all the prospective candidates do campaigns, debates, and present future plans about country to prove themsleves a better candidate and many times this happened that previous president won again and became president for example Barack Obama, Bill Clinton. People chose them because they were having better vision for country than other candidates. On the other hand, if it seen as to make sure path of success they need to step down after their term, then it might not be good for country.

In any management change is necessary, this should not happen that only person is leading for whole life time. Change in leader can be seen as other people should get opportunity also, so that new talent will get chance. Some upper management positions need years of experience and particular knowledge, in this case it might not wise to change leader every five years.

Therefore, it is good to change leaders in any field, so that one person or one group of people doesn't get dominance, and other people also get chance, but it can't be considered that it ensure success, it totally depend on leader, how he manages, and lead a organization and country. Some test measure can be kept in any organization to test every few years to check old leaders are still best to lead or can be replaced with new.