The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per given argument, Fish emporium was giving advertisement in exotic pets monthly magazine five years ago, and their profit increased. The marketing director of Top dogs pet store is recommending the same thing to Top dogs store, according to him, this advertisement will increase their sales. In first look, this argument looks valid, but it is rife with loop holes. It is relying on numerous unstated assumptions, thus argument needs strong evidence as base, which can either support or invalidate the conclusion.

Firstly, Fish emporium store started advertising in exotic pet magazine five years back. In five years many things can change, may be five years back, this magazine was very popular and with the time its popularity decreased. If this is true, then it is worth to give advertisement in the magazine, as it might not have many readers. Therefore, first evidence needed is how popular this magazine is now days, does it have same or increased number audience from last five years?

Next, argument doesn't provide information that increase in profit of fish emproium stores in gulf city is only due to advertisement in the magazine solely or there are other factors of increase in sales also. Argument doesn't say that exotic pet magazine circulate in gulf city also. It is a equivocal that which fish stores are benefited from giving advertisement in the magazine. Maybe fish store gave advertisement in exotic pets magazine, but for store in other areas, and magazine doen't even have audience in gulf city. However, fish store in gulf city experienced increase in profit at he same time when fish store in other cities started advertising in the magazine, but this increase in profit merely due other changes such as change in inventory, and providing more facilities to customers.

Thus, in conclusion, evidences required to check validity of conclusion are to find out similarities between popularity of magazine and other situations now and five years ago, gather data about other changes made by fish store, that might have increased their profit.