The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of the Top Dog Pet Stores states that considering the improvements in the sales of Fish Emporium after publishing their ad in the magazine, it is a prudent decision for them to do the same in order to preclude descending sales of the topdog store. This argument may seem convincing at first sight, but engages in several logical fallacies and fails to present tenable evidence.

First, the author claims that after that fish emporium advertised in the magazine the sales rose. Thinking reasonably, there can be many other reasons for this improvement. Such as making changes in the salespersons of the stores that are more professional and voluble, therefore boosting the sales. Or maybe they have introduced new species of fishes that have captured the interest of customers and they bought more or recommended their stores to their acquaintances. Furthermore, the director just mentions a 15 percent rise and no other figure. It is probable that 15 percent is not a noticeable change if the sales of the past period is low. If any of these assumptions turn true the conclusion of the author renders void.

Second, the residents of the Gulf city are probably more inclined into fish than dogs. Just because the pet store is based in gulf city does not mean that people like dogs. Or assumably they don’t have enough facilities, time, space or financial resources for adopting a dog. Hence, even advertising in the magazine won’t change the situation and sales could remain stable.

Thirdly, the author states that there is a downward trend in the sales and profit of the dog stores. There could be numerous reasons for this decline. It is plausible that stores have raised their prices that customers cannot afford to buy dogs, therefore decreasing the sales. Perhaps the overall management, clerk’s behavior, dogs species are not appropriate or interesting enough thus, reducing their sales and popularity. Another possibility is the emergence of a much stronger rival in the market that is attracting the majority of the citizens. All of these assumptions could be likely and must be taken into consideration by the director.

In summary, the argument seems to lack seriously in cogency and persuasiveness. The writer requires to provide sufficient data and reliable statistics about the sales and operations of the fish emporioum store, overall appraisal of the performance of dog store and careful investigation of the market trend in order to make his conclusion rational.