The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that prohibition of skateboarding has been futile in the past two years and there has been no siginificant change in the number of customers to the plaza,While the skateboarders have triggered no problem in the monroe parke, reaching the conclusion that it is prudent to remove the ban should be removed from central plaza. this argument engages in several logical fallacies and provides unsound reasoning in reaching a conclusion.

First, Small increase in the number of visitors to the plaza can be due to many reasons. it is probable that the economic status of the region has experienced a downturn, therefore people can not afford shopping any more. Another plausible reason could be the high prices of the materials in the plaza, there might have been an increment in the prices during this period or deterioration of the quality of materials hence, people have changed their mind about visiting central plaza.In order to reinforce his argument the author must provide reliable data regardig the fluctuations in economy and prices.

Second,How can we say assuredly say that skateboarder were responsible for vandalism and skateboarding the plaza? Its likely that the daily customers or even the shop owners littered the center and lack of problem nowadays is simply because fewer people visit the place. The vandalism problem could also be attributed to people who visited the center for the shopping purpose, Without sufficient data regarding this issue the assumptions of the author may turn futile.

Third, the skateboarders causing no problem in monroe park could have numerous reasons. maybe there is strict regulations in the park that deter them from doing any misconduct. Moreover no data is presented about the rate of littering or vandalism in the park, maybe monroe park also suffers from the same problems during other hours , for example at midnights when vandalers invade there.Therefore, valid statistics about the set of regulations of the park should be provided and close investigation of whether other crimes occur there or not.

In summary, the argument seem to lack seriously in persuassiveness and cogency. In order for the author to reach a reasonable conclusion, he should search for substatiative data concerned with the economical status of the central park region, changes in the prices, and reliabe evidence regarding the status of monroe park.