The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

five years ago ,fish emporium had advertised in exotic pets monthly magazine to increase their sale and even successful to increase their sale by 15 %. By taking into account the increased sales of fish emporium due to advertisement in exotic pets monthly, a recommendation of advertising about top dog pet in same magazine is brought into light, to reverse declining sales. Though evidences and facts of argument sounds valid , yet these are suffering from some weaknesses and causal assumption as well.

Firstly,in arguement success is ascribed to advertisement in a magazine. However it could be just a superfical factor,in reality some other factors might have played role in success. perhaps fish emporium beside advertisement had also started providing good customer service, different and good varieties of fishes had been added to collection, good looking aquariums had been brought,started charging reasonable rates. these factors are simply overlooked in given argument.

Secondly, advertisement had been given in magazine five years ago. 5 year is a long period of time .it is possible that at time exotic pets monthly was a very famous magazine but now no one reads this magazine, too many other good and famous magazines are in market,perhaps giving add in them may yield better results.Present status of magazine's popularity is not clear to use it as a support. On flip side it is also not clear that by how much sales in actual was increased by advertising in this magazine ,no base figure is provided.Over five years,15% increase is not a large number to consider.this 15% increase can be due to increase in population and raised demand of fish not due to advertisement.

Additionally, as sales of dogs is already declining for sure there must be some other reasons, like bad quality of dogs, less variety, lack of shops of special food and products of dogs, lack of good doctors for dog care. perhaps due to these reasons people are not preferring dogs. Moreover there might too many other pet shops in Gulf City who are providing very good services to people. Then just publishing advertisement in magazine without considering all these factors may not serve the purpose.

so overall there are many flaws in evidences and facts presented. too many pivotal factors are overlooked while drawing a conclusion of publishing advertisement in magazine. so to formulate a cogent policy to increase sales of top dog pet Stores there is need of properly evaluated figures and facts