Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The argument states that due to the predictions of upcoming cold weather in northeastern united states and increment in oil usage at homes, it is a prudent decision to invest in Consolidated industries in near future. This argument seems convincing when given a cursory thought, but it indeed engages in several unsound reasoning and fails to present sufficient logical evidence.

First, the author claims that Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures. how do we know that during this period people have used oil for heating their homes? They may used other devices such as electrical or gas heaters at their homes. Moreover, the possibility remains that this trend of weather does not continue over the next years, weather forecasts are not always true and decisive, thus it is probable that in future the temperature rises during the winter. Any of these assumptions if true makes the author’s conclusion futile.

Second, the newly constructed homes are quite plausible to have applied other means of heating such as electricity. Because their numbers are high, if they don’t use oil as their heating fuel it is likely that the oil usage of the region won’t change. On the other hand, many of the old home’s residents may decide to change their minds about consuming oil and turn to other sources for heating. If this happens the argument’s assumptions will be regarded as false.

Third, assuming that the argument’s predictions turn true. The writer suggests investing in oil companies, but how do we know that the rise in oil usage will bring profit for the company and consequently, revenues for its investors? Maybe the number of houses in the northeastern are not high enough to affect the oil prices. Furthermore, maybe there is no oil industry around the region and deciding which one of the companies in the country supply the fuel of this place is not possible by layman. the company may require additional manufacturing units, more raw materials, additional workers etc. In the absence of detailed information on the finances involved in manufacturing the additional heating oil and the profits brought in by the sale of the heating oil, one cannot be convinced that the investments would easily be recovered and that the company will have good profits. Additionally, the possibility remains that country decides to import oil in case of a rise in oil demand, therefore precluding the fluctuations in the prices. In order for the arguer to present a grounded conjecture all these scenarios must be taken into consideration.

In summary, the argument seems to lack seriously in reasoning and persuasiveness. The author should provide sufficient data and sound evidence regarding the oil usage in the mentioned region, reliable trends in the weather over the next years and meticulous statistics about the sales and operations of the Consolidated Industries to make his predictions and advise tenable.