“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the television station states that omitting the coverage of weather and local news from programs has had detrimental effect on the quality of television and promoted dissatisfaction among viewers.Hence, he concludes that they should restart local programs in order to reach better performance. This argument may seem logical at first look but it actually engages in several logical fallacies and fails to be convincing.

First, the manager states that lessening of local programs has been occured in the past year. one year is not enough time to assess the effect of a decision, more time should be devoted for measuring the outcomes.He also states that complaints have been concerned with coverage of local news. This sentence in vague.What is the subject of the complaints? It is likely that people ask to omit the local prgrams completely, or they are just dissatisfied with the television presenters or contents o these programs. Therefore manager should provide sufficient data regarding the reason of the complaints and perform surveys on people who call them.

Second, he claims that local businesses have end their cooperation with them for advertising. This can have numerous reasons, maybe the advertisers have found more popular programs and are therefore attracted to them. It is also possible that this television offered high prices for advertising and it has deterred businesses from choosing them. Therefore valid data regarding the precise reasons of this change should be provided.

Third, the conclusion of the manager regarding the restoring of local programs in order to attract viewer seems cursory. Late-night programs are not usually concerned with news or weather program, including them may have more adverse effect on their view rates. Additionally, vast surveys must be performed regarding any new rivals in the market. It is likely that other television programs cover this local programs that are more attractive for audiences. Also, they should ensure that people have any predilection for this kind of programs or not. Therefore, more data is required regarding the people's opinion and market.

In conclusion, this argument lacks seriously in persuasiveness and cogency. More statistics and sufficient evidence should be acquired regarding the market, people, and advertisers.