In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to given argument Prunty county need to follow same road improvement factors which Butler county followed five years back, as lowering speed from 55 to 45 mph didn't help in reducing number of accidents in the county. In this argument, the suggestion to follow same guidelines as Butler county is not based on any strong evidence, which can make sure, widening lanes, or resurfacing rough highwaysor improving visibility at dangerous intersections will definately help prunty county to reduce accidents. No comparison is done, how both counties are similer geographically or is prunty county's problem is same and due to similar reasons as butler county.

First evidence we need to support this argument is a analysis report which certifies that both counties are similar geographically, and have similar work culture and weather conditions. There are many factors which can weaken this argument. May be prunty county already have enough wide highways and no one in the county ever had had issue about width of highway lanes. May be county kept check on their highways and keep on resurfacing when it is needed and doesn't have much blind site intersections, but still have high accident rate due to other reasons for example, prunty county have major companies and people rush in working hours, which cause accident or county has harsh weather conditions such as heavy rain or sharp sun which cause more accidents. In these cases, improving roads might not help.

Another loop hole in the argument is that, no information provided, is prunty county has enough area around highways to widen lanes or there are buildings around highways which leave no chance to widen lanes.

One more gap is butler county implemented the given improvement 5 years before. In this case, statistics which shows accident rate is decreased is recent or not is also a questionable and more detailed data definatly required which will show decrease in accident for butler county is only due to highway improvements.

Thus, as per above discussion, it is important to compare both counties to similarities both implementing solution to prunty county which worked for butler county five years before.