Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities can help students to understand students their interests and so they can take courses which fits best with their interest. But interest is very subjective matter, which is hard to understand for univeristies also. Universities provide courses according to degree ciriculum. Some times courses which are in the sllybus, students might not be interested in, but knowledge that subject is important to understand the major in which they are interested in.

If universities take this responsibility, then first they need to understand in which course students are interested. Will it be helpful for them to reach their long term goals? To understand this, universities can put some extra efforts or work shops, but can't require students to take that course.

A student might be interested in some major, just want to know about it more, however doesn't want to take it as course. In this sense, if university, will put him in a group of students who are taking that major and require him to take course, then it may not be good for him/her. It is different thing that he might get interested later or might not also. It will be hard for these kind of unveristies to keep students on track to reach their goal. There is an example of Reed College, USA, in which Steve Jobs, former CEO of Apple Inc. use to study. In this college strudents are allowed to take courses according to their interest, but they course required according to their interest. Which students were finding hard to follow, as they were finding it difficult to follow courses with their changing interest.

Possing university requirements on such a subjective matter interest will make difficult for students. Univeristies can help them understand their iterests, but putting requirements is not agreeable concept, which can cause limitation in students.