Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To make present and future in better shape it is important to understand past and learn from it, so that past mistakes can be avoided, the same is true in leadership positions as well. In leadership positions, leaders change after every few years, and all of them make some promises to make present better of people or team who are electing them. To fulfill those promises they need to make changes in current policies, laws, or in management. The previous leaders must have done the same. Now, if current leaders, take a look at the outcome of past leaders actions and results then it can act as guideline for them to stay reluctant to those mistakes which already happened in the past.

The US election are just got over and new elected president Donold Trump is taking charge of president. His policy during election campaign was very similar to the given statement. He was willing put new policies in action and repel the old ones, without understanding the circumstances and need of those policies. One out of those policies is Obama Care, former president Brack Obama made law that everyone in the country should have health care coverage and he made Obama care act, which provides affordable care to people. Now, elected president was not willing understand past and always campaigning agaist Obama care. After winning election, new president few days understanding, how all the policies are being designed and working right now and he decided he will not repel Obama care. This all happened just because he gave sometime to understand past and then made decision, if he would acted without understanding the past then twenty million people would have lost their health coverage.

Past can be used to learn from mistakes and understand good work to continue doing it, but nobody can stick with it. The leaders cannot stick with it, and continue doing whatever previous leaders have done. It is responsibity of a leader to lead to team to new levels, to do this he need to make new changes, instand of sticking with past rules. Thus for leaders in current positions past has importance to make things better in today.

In conclusion, past has little importance just to learn from it and to be better leader. Completly ignoring past might not help present leader to maintain position.