A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

Author of this passage concludes that residents of Mentia will have less headaches due to increased use of salicylates in food production. As an argument author use the results of twenty-year study which investigated therapeutic effect of salicylates on headaches. While author assumptions may seem logical and correct, it would require more information in order to confirm its validity.

First, author in his argument rely on result of twenty-year study, that discovered a correlation between rise of commercial use of salycylates and decline of headaches reported by participants. Nevertheless, there is no information about validity of this study. Twenty-year research is a long project, so scientific errors could happen. It would be helpful to have some additional information about the survey and how it was conducted. Were the same participants studied 20 years long or study asked different residents of Mentia every year? How big was the survey group, were participants from different social, gender and age groups?

Another important thing that could weaken or stronger the authors argument is information about other factors that could cause headaches. Salicylates are not the only medicine that can reduce headaches. It is quite possible, that in twenty year some other factor influenced the results of the study. For example, maybe new medicine with headache-reducing ingredient become very popular in past 20 years and it high usage decreased amount of headaches.

At the end, author concludes that residents of Mentia will less suffer from headaches in a future as food-processing companies for sure will use salicylate as flavor additives in near future. However, it is unsupported assumption with no evidence from companies. Maybe salicylates is too expensive to use it as flavor additives or another better substitute already exist. Author doesn’t provide any strong arguments that usage of salycilates in food-processing will rise, thus assumption that Mentia citizents will consume more salysidates is not valid.

Although, author conclusion may be right, his argument lacks additional information about subject of the study, so more information is required in order to fully agree with the authors opinion.