Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Claim asserts that imagination is more valuable than experience as novice without experience have open minds and they are free to imagine what is possible without constraint of established habits. Generally, I disagree with that position, because I consider experience is very valuable in every field.

For sure, people without practical knowledge of something can have free minds, without restrains from habits and established attitudes about what is possible and what’s not. History know some examples of cloth designers, who weren’t tailors and know nothing about what is considered possible to create from tailors point of view. Their minds weren’t bounded and prototypes they created were considered impossible to mass-produce. However, it turns out that there is a way to sew those outfits and due to its freshness and unique style those collections were very high appraised and it was all because designers lacked experience in tailoring and were free to imagine.

However, I believe that it is rare example and mostly dilettante with no experience cannot invent anything worthy. With many trials, people learn and find out good or bad ways in doing something. It is not just established habits and attitudes that define experienced person and bound him in his position. It is thousands of observations, practical experience, long thoughts and calculations about the subject. Imagination cannot replace all that.

In the past, people dreamed to fly or create a device that can helps to do so . Many great minds tried to make this dream come true. Even Leonardo Da Vinci had a prototypes of a flying machine, not to count hundreds of others dreamers and inventors. They imagined a lot how a man can fly, there were different theories what is the best way to build such machine. However all those dreamers failed to produce working mechanism, some of them even died trying to use trier device. Only later, when human had knowledge about gravity, dynamics and other important things, only then people found a way to build a first plain. It took a lot of experience from previous failures, knowledge of field-related facts and a lot of hard work.

To conclude, I believe that experience is critical in almost every field as it prevents mistakes and give understanding of how things will or will not work. Even if there are some examples of people who become successful only with power of imagination, I consider them as lucky outliers from an overall amount of those who failed to archive their goals without proper experience.