Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Nowadays education plays a big role in individual’s life. People pursuing degrees in order to specialize in some major, get a job and become professionals. However, some suggest that universities should force students to take courses outside of the student’s field of study. Personally, I disagree with that position because it would bring more damage to person’s knowledge and education that it would bring benefits.

In general, it is quite understandable why such opinion exist and how it looks attractive to some people. Taking variety of courses outside of major field of study for sure broaden intelligence and may help in building a well-educated individual in many respects. It is always interesting to talk with a person that knows a lot about our world, history, art, have some science knowledge as well.

However, university are primarily designated to building a professional in a particular field of study. Students are admitted for a not so long period of time in which they are trying to get courses which most likely will provide them a good job. Thus, I do not agree that requiring students to take courses outside theirs field of study is a good decision, as it will take away time and possibilities from getting better in major field of study. For instance, if I was required to take a history course, would it make me a better statistician? Probably not. It would help me to broaden my overall knowledge, but I was pursuing degree in statistic and my primarily goal was to become a good statistician, not a history expert.

In addition, I would like to remind that society already have an institution where people are receiving knowledge in a lot of fields of study. It is school. Pupils there are required to take a lot of courses with a completely different subjects. Thus forcing universities to do so will make them be more like a general schools and this is not the goal universities pursue. However, if a student is willing to take some additional courses outside major, university can provide such opportunity to educate oneself, but without hurting his or her main purpose of entering educational institution.

Overall, I think that the recommendation is not as good as it may look as it may decrease the value of university education.