The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One

Author of this recommendation assume that in order to improve overall productivity of Acme Publishing, its employees should take the Easy Read course. As arguments, author uses some success stories of recent course graduate and assume that benefits of the training overshadow it’s price. While author suggestion may be logical, it will require more thought and data to warrant any action.

<!--break--> Firstly, as example of Easy Read course effectiveness, author provide a story about recent graduate that rose from assistant manager to vice president in a year. While course could helped him, there is no information about preexisting skills and experience of this graduate. Maybe his excellent education and deep knowledge of a business provided such success? Author provide no argument, that ability to read and absorb more information fast is the reason of his promotion.

<!--break--> Another assumption author makes is that Acme’s employees productivity will improve after Easy Read course. We don’t have any information about type of their work and how absorbing more information in reduced amount time will help them to work faster and better. Do they really need this ability? Maybe typical workday of Acme Publishing employee does not require them to work with information, thought Easy Read course will be useless for them. Some data about Acme Publishing workers with examples how their productivity can be improve could bolster author’s argument.

<!--break--> Finally, author states that 500$ per employee is a small pay for the benefits this course will bring. While we don’t have any information about size of a Acme Publishing Company, we cannot conclude how big the total expenses this recommendation will bring. It is quite possible, that Acme Publishing is a huge corporation with thousands of employees, so in total, 500$ per each worker is a huge amount of money. Author should provide financial analysis in order to fully understand overall costs of this project.

<!--break--> Overall, author of recommendation fails to provide valid arguments and convince that Easy Read course is necessity to Acme Publishing Company.