"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

Manager of a television station offers to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to former level as he believes that it will attract more viewers and prevent further revenue loss. Author claims that when station devoted more time to national news instead of local news and weather, it led to decreased viewership and loss of advertising revenue. While the correlation stated are logical and probable, it will require more thought and data in order to warrant any action.

First of all, manager claims that most complaints station received were regarding station's coverage of weather and local news. However, author provides no detailes or data about those complaints. It would be beneficial to know, what specifically viewers didn't like in station's weather and local news programs. Maybe they are unsatisfied with the content or quality of the picture, not he coverage itself. Additionally, author should provide statistics from a previous years. It is quite possible, that amount of complaints received is insignifficant compared to previous year.

Secondly, author assumes that local businesses used to advertise during late-night news programs cancelled their advertising due to decreased coverage of local news and weather. It is merely an assumption without solid grounds. Author provides no justification of his statement. There can be many other reasons why local businesses broke their contracts. The economical situation can be bad, so they decreased their marketing budgets, or they figured out that advertising on television doesn't reach their main audience and switched to different advertising channels. Manager should conduct some survey of local businesses owners or decision makers and prove his argument with valid data.

Finally, author assumes that if station restore time to local news and weather it will attract more viewers and avoid further loss of advertising revenue. It is not necessarilly so. There is no quaranty that such action will benefit the station. Maybe viewers are looking for completelly different formats and have no interest in local news and weather reports, so station changes will not attract them.

In conclusion, author provide little justification to his arguments. In order to fully understand situation and make a decision it would require more research and data. Author should provide analysis of current viewers complaints, compare them to previous years, gather some answers from partners that used to advertise during late-night programs and finally provide report of a current state the industry with conclusion on what audience and advertisers nowadays are looking for.