A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given prediction that increase in food companies adding salicylates for flavor will result in decrease in headache endured by residents of Mentia. Though, the prediction seems plausible at first sight, it is actually flawed by assumptions made by the argument, for which it fails to provide evidence. The assumptions are expounded in the body paragraphs.

First of all, the author of the argument mentions about the twenty-year study on headaches suffered by residents of Mentia. But, he fails to provide any details of the study. Like, how many residents participated in the study. How the study was done. What was the process and how reliable it is. All these questions need to be answered before we can even think about proceeding further with the argument. Multiple alternatives are possible which can call into question for the argument’s validity. For example, there is a likelihood that very few people participated in the study or residents might be getting headache because of personal stress or other disease which are cured with time. We don’t know if there is any potential role played by Salicylates in reducing it. The argument doesn’t talk about on what basis did the study conclude.

Furthermore, increase in salicylates in food product for various purposes is directly correlated with the decrease in headaches among the resident without any evidence. How do we know that salicylates was the reason that attributed to the slump in headaches? Did people of Mentia eat those food products. If yes, how consistent was the dosage. Did they eat that food when they were getting headache and felt instant relief? We don’t that for sure. As mentioned in the previous paragraph, people might be suffering from headache because of work stress or personal problems and with time those faded away as did their headache.

Even though the assumption discussed in the previous paragraphs are proved true, still concluding that increase in food products with salicylate will wane the headaches among residents of Mentia is an overstatement and must be rethought. How do we know that the new food products are preferred by residents of Mentia. What is the price of those products and can residents of Mentia afford eating those on regular basis. There can be similarly many questions that can arise and need to answered before making such a strong conclusion.

Hence, in summary, all the questions discussed in body paragraphs need to be answered before making the prediction. Otherwise, the aforementioned assumptions could be proved specious and the argument will fall apart.