The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument makes a recommendation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it’s former level in the late-night programs based on many unwarranted assumptions. Unless there is some evidence to prove these assumptions, the recommendation will not hold true. The assumptions held by the argument are delineated in the body paragraphs.

First of all, the author’s point that there have been complaints from viewer whose concern was station’s coverage of weather and local news is pretty vague and doesn’t provide a necessary stand for him. It is not clear from the claim that concern of viewers was the decrease timing for local news and weather programs or the impertinence of airing them even for the little time. Even though, if the concerns were around the shortening of period for which those shows were aired on television, we don’t know that if multiple complaints came from one person or multiple complaints came from many people. Therefore, in order to make a cogent case, author must provide a detailed survey report to showcase the sample space of people’s complaints and also what their concerns were.

Another highlighting assumption present in argument’s assertion is that the there is a slump in revenue due to lesser time devoted to weather and local news. We have no evidence stating that the overall revenue decreased over the past year because of the aforementioned structure. There is a possibility that increased timing for national news proliferated the revenue by greater amount than the reduction in local news could have reduced. There is no clear evidence that mentions about the contribution towards revenue of each show aired on the television. Henceforth, it is farcical to just assume that the overall revenue slumped over past year because reduction in the time for which the local news and weather were aired.

Furthermore, germane evidences will be needed to bring out the reason behind losing contracts will local businesses. Currently, the argument fails to suffice this. Multiple possibilities are possible that could have caused the local businesses to retract the contract. One of them could be that they would have got exciting and better offers from another competing television station. Until, pertinent evidences are provided, argument stand on this assumption won’t hold true.

In summary, although the argument’s recommendation might be true, but it can’t be proved with the points that argument bases its recommendation on. In order to prove the veracity of its position, it must provide the aforementioned evidences.