Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Colleges and universities are the inevitable root of a student’s education. For a student to glean all the advantages in learning from a college, college must equip itself with all the crude as well as advanced facilities. In order to fund and also maintain these, government needs money. Therefore, I am not in line with the given claim that government should make education free of cost for all the students in college or university. The reason behind my position is delineated in the body paragraphs.

First of all, all the equipment, fundamental or advanced: laboratories, libraries, football ground, etc, are essential for a student’s learning and growth is an irrefutable fact. College must have these by any means to avoid inhibiting growth of the students. In order to fund these, government needs money. And if government makes education free for all the students, it will become insolvent which will lead to it cutting down these facilities. To elaborate on this point, let’s put some light on an example of a university from my home town, where in a college, named Notre Dam institute of technology, made education free for all the students. Thus, it got bankrupt after a few months and started cutting down facilities like sports, mess food and library. These changes upset the students of the college as it became trying for them to search a place that sells food near the campus or arranging books of their interest.

Furthermore, some students initially would not be agog to go to university. The education fees motivate them to attend classes because they are investing money on it. To delineate further, I have an example from my personal experience, I have seen students of government schools, where education is free, hardly attend classes because they take education for granted. Since, not all the students will know the importance of education from the beginning, there should be some incentive for them for going to college. In most cases, education fees serve that purpose based on my personal experience.

However, there are many financially challenged students who can’t afford universities because of their high fee structure. In that case, government should make an effort to decrease their free or provide some kind of financial aid or scholarship for those students. This will enable them to pursue education without the barrier of finances.

In summary, in order to get funding for having university full proofed with all the necessary equipment for learning, government should not make education free for all the students. However, it should take care of finances of the students who can’t afford going to university. In this way, government will ensure overall growth of students is not frustrated and also every student gets to learn.