Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although there is a possibility that increase in call-in advice programs in a radio station can bring a surge in radio audience listening to that station, author’s case to prove this is full of assumptions. If these assumptions are proved wrong, author’s stand will fall apart.

Firstly, author places his assumption that increase in number of listening audience of WCQP radio station is lonely because of increase in number of call-in programs. But, he fails to provide any proof for it. Is there a possibility of other factors contributing to the surge in number of audiences? Is there any survey or study showing only increasing number of such shows can attract the audience? There could be multiple possibilities unless these questions are answered. For example, change of RJs or the way of hosting the show, change of the type of songs being placed in the shows can all potentially cause an increase in the crowd. There is no legit survey or similar study to prove the legitimacy of such claim that only call-in advice program contributes to the increase of people listening to the station.

Additionally, author mentions about the nation-wide survey which depicts that many listeners are quite interested in call-in advice programs. But, although the survey was nation-wide, do we know exactly how many people took the survey? Were the people taking the survey from same or adjacent area of nation or rife across the nation? How reliable is the sample space of the survey? Author clearly doesn’t answer these in his argument and without it, the recommendation won’t hold true.

Building on the assumptions stated above, there are still other open unanswered question on the KICK radio station’s current state. What are the shows that KICK radio station present? Does people prefer listening to the type of songs being placed in this station? Is the RJ adept in entertaining the crowd? There are so many factors that can neutralize the effect of increasing the call-in programs, if not taken care. For example, if the RJs hosting the shows in KICK radio station are not fun, or the songs being played are not the one people want to hear. Even with increase in number of call-in advice shows will not attract the overall audiences.

Thus, author needs to introspect all his assumptions to prove their validity. All the remnant questions need to be answered to make a claim that call-in advice program alone can attract the crowd, be it any part of the nation and hence, same can be recommended for KICK radio station.