In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress comes when we are aware of the entire problem as a whole, it’s impact and importance of solving it. All this awareness is difficult to perceive in the correct direction by a single person or group of people having similar view points. So, I agree with the statement given above that progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Firstly, people discussing on an issue with different view points leads to seeing the problem from all the angles. This increases the coverage of the solution we can provide. Two different kinds of solution, when conflated, can possiblity give a better covered solution. We have numerous forums that conduct debates, extempore among people on ongoing issues to get all kinds of ideas. This might lead to coming to a solution which was not at first though by a single unit.

Discussion among people with different viewpoints can potentially uncover pros and cons of different kinds of solution, thus avail the authority with variety of choices from which the he can choose the best. Most of the software companies conduct team meetings, retrospective meetings in order to analyse the problem which they faced from all different perspectives and come up with a robust well covered solution. A better solution to our problems means more progress.

Although, having so many benefits of having discussion among conflicting people, it is very important that, at the end, the conflicting group comes up with a final solution, otherwise it might lead to a never-ending detour with no legit solution. Having so can consume a lot of time and can be proved inefficient.

Thus, a well-directed discussion among people with varied thoughts can lead to a more robust solution and therefore more progress. But, such discussion must be end up with a final solution that takes care of all the pros and cons and shouldn’t be going on indefinitely without any output.