People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

External forces, although, play an irrefutable role in attributing to how people behave, I still feel that at the end it is the person’s inner self that calls for that behavior. There can be myriad of circumstances that can try to conquer over us. But, it is the person who chooses to react to it positively or negatively. Therefore, I am not in line with the given claim that people’s behavior is largely determined by his environment. I, rather believe that his own inner force is responsible for his action because of several reasons, as elaborated in body paragraphs.

Firstly, it completely varies from person to person in that how much he is letting the outer forces to cause to his behavior. If someone wants something badly, he/ she will make effort against all the external forces, in order to achieve his/ her goal. On the other hand, some other person might give up to the circumstance and quit. This can be vetted by considering a hypothetical example of a person who is a layman in golf and wants to master it within a month. For doing so, he needs to wake up early every morning at 5 am and go for practice. In this scenario, it completely depends on the person how he disciplines himself. Whatever decision he makes-whether to be consistent with his plan or quit to the circumstance of feeling lazy to get up early- it will be the person himself who chose to behave that way. The external force only acts like a catalyst, which can be made as inert or highly reactive by the person.

On the same line, if a lady, of age 65, wants to remarry, society will criticize her for doing so. In a spot like such, it’s the lady who is causing her behavior-whether to listen to society and forgets about remarrying or feel the fear and take action anyway. As long as a person can discipline and control his actions, external environment hardly has any role in attributing to person’s behavior.

However, there can be circumstances where people become slave to external forces like the time when Britishers came to rule India. In spite of the fact that people hated being ruled, they hardly had any choice but to obey because of their poverty and primacy of the Britishers over India. In such a plight too, some freedom fighters like Bhagat Singh, Subhash Chandra Bose decided to fight against the Britisher, not caring about their lives. This again clearly underscores the aforementioned point that it is the people who are sole responsible for their action.

In summary, although situations can be unfortunate but it is totally up to us as to how we decide to react to it. How much self-discipline, motivation and control we have over ourselves. Rest all becomes insignificant when one is determined in his venture.