Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the world changing every day and the requirements evolving on daily basis, the need for our leaders to see the problem from different perspectives everyday has become paramount. Therefore, the leaders, in any field – business, education, government, should step down after five years.

In business, with requirements of the customer evolving everyday based on the trends, it has become important that the leaders contemplate the customer problems from different angles so as to adhere to trend. With the same leader leading a company from always, sometimes they become blind folded to seeing the problem from other perspectives. With new leader, it is possible to have new perspective, even the better ones, can lead to new innovation in the company, and hence success. Same is true with other fields too – politics, education, government.

In India, we saw a huge change after Prime minister Narendra Modi came to power. One of the changes was Demonetization. This had put lots of people with black money in trouble, hence uncovering their crimes. His way was different and produced significant results. Same is true for education. We can see that with new leaders, the way of teaching is changing very fast and for the good of the students. Before, students had to mug up the lessons in their courses, irrespective of their interests to pass their semester. Now, the trend is changing to make it more student friendly so that they can focus only on the subjects that interest them.

Although it is true that new way of thinking can bring innovation, it is possible that those innovations are not worthy and not in adherence to solving the actual problem. This totally depends on the new leader in power. Also, as we know change is uncomfortable, people might not like the changes which the new leader brings in. But, until there is a change, we will never know if it did good or bad to the society. Sticking to the same pattern is no solution to the changing trend. Therefore, a calculated decision to put a new leader to power can be more fruitful than futile.

We, thus, saw that in order to bring innovation and different perspectives, it is important that those in power should step down in five years in order to bring success to the society.