A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A recent report shows that the residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches with the consumption of salicylates. However, the writer must answer the following questions to strengthen the claim.

First of all, the author claims that although many foods already have natural salicylates, food-processing companies also add some into foods as preservatives. Nevertheless, is this report written for those companies so that they can profess that the salicylate is good for the consumer because they must add some salicylates to preserve foods? Is this report proved by the third-party agency or any powerful institution? Moreover, if people eat the salicylate as preservatives, it will cause any other diseases?

Second, the writer states that the research has been studied for twenty years. On the other hand, the article does not mention any information about how many people participate in this study, and how the research was processed. Does the research take into account differences in age, occupation, eating habits, and physical fitness? Alternatively, does the number of participants is enough to represent the whole group of residents of Mentia? Such information is crucial to judge the research that the writer must provide.

Furthermore, the article points out that the study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches. However, the correlation is not equal to causality. Do any other factors cause the decline? For example, the weather is changing. The winter is no longer such cool so that residents would not feel pain in the winter. Or the health care system and living environment are improving. Such factors might also ameliorate the symptom of the headaches. Thus, it must be answered that does the study exclude other factors on the research, and only confirm salicylate is helpful to reduce the headaches.

In conclusion, to make the argument more convincing, the author must address the question mentioned on the above.