A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author argues that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future. Because salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine for headaches, a study found correlation with commercial use of salicylates and decline in average number headaches, and salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for food. However, there are several questions that need to be answered to make the argument as plausible as it stands.

First of all, the author claims that salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, thus, it may have the same therapeutic effect of aspirin. Notwithstanding, are compounds of salicylates completely the same as aspirin? Although salicylates and aspirin are from the same chemical family, and may have similar effects to headaches, the compounds of them could be really different. Maybe the dose of the chemical element that can mitigate headache in aspirin is way higher than in salicylates, since aspirin was designed to alleviate headache. Yet the author does not provide more details about salicylates, hence, readers might not be able to believe that salicylates can have an effect on headaches as similar as aspirin.

Secondly, the author cites a twenty-year study that found correlation between commercial use of salicylates and decline of the average number of headaches reported by study participants to support his or her claim. Yet the correlation that the study found does not mean that salicylates is the reason that causes the decline of the average number of headaches, and readers cannot know the actual relationship between them. Correlation between salicylates and headache can only indicate that when the dose of salicylates changes, the number of headaches would change as well. Moreover, without knowing the actual relationship between them, it is possible that when the dose of salicylates increase, the number of headaches increases too. Thus, the author should delineate the relationship more specifically.

Finally, the author claims that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and many companies plan to do so. Even though salicylate can really cure headache, is the dose of salicylate enough to mitigate headache? If salicylates are just a spice that improves the flavor of food, people would not like to put too much of them in the food, because it may cover the taste of the food itself, thus, cookers might not put a lot of salicylates in the food. And with little dose of salicylate, it may not be able to reach the threshold of mitigating people's headache. Therefore, increasing commercial use of salicylate may not be able to bring significant effect for curing headache.

In conclusion, to make the claim as convincing as it stands, the author has to address the questions mentioned above.