A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The author suggests that the use of salicylates will help the residents of Mentia to suffer fewer headaches in the future. For basing the above statement the author reasons that, a twenty-year study has been conducted that concludes that the use of salicylates is safe. Moreover, salicylates could also be used as food preservatives and food flavoring. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumption that, if not substantiated, might dramatically attenuates the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, several questions must be answered to validate the arguments present in the prompt.

Firstly, does the study presents how many people were involded in the tests? Additionally, do the author represent any particular age group who were participated in the study? If might be possible that the study that has been conducted to test the viablity and validity of Salicylates usage was conducted on a small number of people who were residents of Mantia or the people involded in the study were of a particular age group, say 20-30 years old. If this is the case then, it's irrelevant for the author to draw a common results for every individual. If the author would have contributed with a few more details then it would be a plausible explanation for bolstering the use of salicylates.

Secondly, does the author took acount of other side effects caused by the use of salicylates? There is nowhere mentiond in the argument about the side effects caused by the use of salicylates. It could be possible that even though the people are using salicylates in their diets or as a medicinal purpose, it is engendering other problems and difficulties in the body. People might be facing other challenges with their bodies like fatigue, dizziness, letharginess, etc. Therefore, without any particular peices of evidence the author's reasoning is flaunt and ersatz.

Last but not the least, it's elicited that the food processing companies has discovered that salicylates can be used as a flavouring agent for foods. However, there is a flaw in the statement as the author fails to provide any details about the food testing company. As there is no evidece about the credulity and authenticity of the food testing company, to believe in their results seem doubtful. If the author could have provided a few positive facts about the food testing company then, it would be plausible to believe in the results provided by them.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument. The author's conclusion that the Mentia residents will suffer less headaches in the future seems dubious and skeptical because the reasons provided by the authore to buttress the conclusion is appocryphal. Therefore, the author must rethink and should provide the readers with a logical and foolproof solution.