A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument presented health professionals predict that the people residing in Mentia would experience a decline in headaches in the years to come. They came to this conclusion based on a research on the headaches experienced by the people of Mentia, the research spanned twenty years. According to the study, there was a relationship between the increase in the use of Salicylates commercially, and the reduction in average head pains reported among Mentia residents. In order for this argument to be said to be reasonable, a couple of questions which I would discuss in the body of this essay would need to be answered.

Firstly, did the study take into consideration other factor that might have led to the drop in number of headaches? The write up states that the study researched on the likely calming effects of Salicylates intake and this revealed that it cures headache, based on this a conclusion was made. It is possible that there are other factors that contributed to the decrease in migraines, for example, the residents of Mentia might have adopted healthier, reduced the amount of strenuous activities they participated in or increased the amount of sleep they got lifestyles within that twenty-year period. These are some other reasons that may have contributed to the reduction in their head pains. If these answers are provided, and it is shown that the other possibilities were not looked at, it would make the argument unreasonable.

Secondly, who are the participants that were involved in this study? This question needs to be answered because, the sample size of this research might not have been representative enough of the entire Mentia population. For instance, if only teenagers were involved in this study, it would not make sense to say that since Salicytes reduced headaches in young adults it would also do the same for children or senior citizens. If answers are provided for this question and it is revealed that there was a bias in the selection of participants for the investigation, it would seriously weaken the validity of the prediction.

Finally, would all dwellers in Mentia purchase food from the food production companies that use this chemical? In the prompt it is stated that since many food processing companies plan to start using Salicytes in their products, it would reduce the head pain experienced by Mentia dwellers. However, there is a possibility that most people staying in Mentia might not buy food items from the companies that have introduced this chemical into their products. If that is the case, then the prediction would be inaccurate.

In conclusion, the prediction and argument stated in the prompt are flawed because answers need to be provided on the people who participated in the research, if other factors that could reduce headaches were considered before a conclusion was made and if it is certain that Mentia residents would get food from the companies that use Salicytes. If answers to these questions are provided it would help us evaluate if the prediction and argument are reasonable.