Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research and Development by scientists are ways in which new discoveries are made. These discoveries usually lead to various kinds of innovation. The prompt states that government should place little or no restriction on scientific experiments that lead to discoveries. In my opinion. I agree to an extent because these findings by people of science promote a nations growth and increase the influx of external researchers to a country which in turn boosts tourism. However, the research process is expensive and some countries might not be able to afford it.

To begin, scientific people usually perform experiments that leads to new findings which might be beneficial to the growth of the hosts country. If these research leads to the discovery of a new or better way or carrying out an existing task. It would be to the good of the country because they would begin to utilise the new method before others, and this could boost the economy of the nation. A case in point is the Corona virus which begun in 2019 and proliferated in 2020, researchers in the United States of America were one of the first to discover the Covid-19 vaccine. This was beneficial to the US, as their citizens were one of the first to utilise this vaccine. As a result of this, they were able to save lives and also boost the economy of America because external countries began to source for the vaccine from them. This shows that encouraging scientific discoveries has more gain than putting a stop to it.

Also, scientific findings can increase the amount of expatriates in a country, which would lead to growth in the tourism sector. This is because men and women of science are very curious and would most times want to go and see new discoveries for themselves. For example, a research was carried out in Nigeria by the Nigeria Tourism sector on the reasons Nigerians flew out of the country between year 2000 and 2010, showed that about 50% of Nigerians that travelled out that period were professors or lecturers from Nigerian universities who wanted to go and carry out some sort of research with a foreign professor who is an expert in a certain field. This proves that findings from the world of science attracts external visitors into a country and thus boosts tourism.

However, research and development is not cheap and some nations cannot afford it. This is why some leaders would want to place a restriction on it. For example, during the corona virus pandemic, we saw that a huge amount of money going into millions of dollars was spent on the vaccination research. As a result of this, some countries were not able to develop vaccines in house and had to get from bigger nations.

In conclusion, if scientific findings and developments are not prevented by the government, it could boost the economy of the nation and also benefit the tourism sector via the amount of external researchers it attracts. Although, it could be expensive for countries with low revenue. These are the reasons why I agree to an extent with the essay prompt.