"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

while it seems to be legitimate to save money by signing contract with buzzoff for all pest control services, the author's argument doesn'r make a cogent case for the inherent correlation between the damage the companies made and cost reducing strategies. Although it might be assigning buzzoff as the desirable partner, the argument is rife with loopholes and untenbale assumptions, and thus, is not strong enough to ground the proposal.

The author indicates that buzzoff made a significant lower value destruction compared with that of fly-away company. The situations are, however, different and the damages are not directly comparable. Firstly, the total worth of food needs further investigation. The destruction ratios are ought to be taken into consideration instead of the absolute value. For instance, it is possible that the total value of food at Palm City which is taken care of by buzzoff company is 10 times larger than that in wintervale which is accountable to fly-away company, while the value damage is only 2 times higher. In that is the case, the buzzoff company do a better job in preserving the food. Secondly, the locations are different which means the climate and the local ecosystem may also have an impact on the outcome of bug-killing. if the wind is strong in wintervale, the pesticide may be dessipated in a small amount of time, making the storage environment less toxic for food. thus the fly-away company itself does not own the credit of doing less damage. only if these factors can be controled for comparison, can the decision made by the author to be correct.

The author also demonstrates that returning to buzzoff is the best way to save money for the company, but this conclusion is falsely drawn because they have not taken other elements in food storage into consideration. pest control is only one aspect of the cost. Warehouse rent, the security, and the logistics are other sides which requires large bunks of money input and can broach budget control. that is to say, even if the cost of pest-killing services cannot be cut, the company can think of changing other contracted partners for money saving purposes.