Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

While it seems to be legitimate to claim that Nature’s Way would gain success in the town, but the author’s argument does not make a cogent case for the correlation of assumptions made and the conclusion. It may be reasonable to postulate transit past success and enlarged may be of benefit for a peachy business, but the argument is rife with loopholes and unsubstantiated assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the guarantee of success.

The author indicates that past business experience of Nature’s Way has shown they tend to be most profitable in healthy-life-oriented towns, as a result, they will also succeed in Plainsville since it falls into this category. The is a false induction, however, since the profitability is compared within the franchises across different regions, not among different branches. Other factors which are essential to the success of a business are overlooked by the author: the location of store, the competitors, and the preference of customers, etc.. Another store with a central store in town who provide more comprehensive while less expensive products and services might counter the customers’ needs, or a store which has been in this town for years and the owner is familiar with most people in town are more competitive than a new Nature’s Way franchise in a corner of the town. All the information related to prelisting factors have not been mentioned and one needs further disclosure to judge whether it would be successful.

Other than that, it is also postulated by the author that the residents live healthy lives according to the sales data of local sports merchants and health club. It might be reasonable to believe that this leads to larger customer base and the demand for health paraphernalia would spike. This is, however, not true. People might sign up for classes and buying running shoes because doing sports is fad in town. It is possible that the course attendance is low and people in town would actually quite doing sports after the fad fades away, limiting the profit in the long run. To draw the conclusion made by the author, data in the past few years needs to analyzed and the sports participation rate in town should be examined in a time series.

Ruling out the factors mentioned above which might undermine the assumptions will make the argument more justifiable.