"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues here that as the number of enrollment is growing, new dormitories should by build up by the Buckingham College in order to serve the housing needs to the students. The argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author believe that the rate of student enrollment continues over the next 50 years which might leads to the limited space for the students. Also the author expects that the new dormitories will attract the student towards Buckingham College as the off-campus housing might be more expensive to the students. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the numbers of the students over the next 50 years will be double.This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. How can someone just guess the data over 50 years based on the current trend. 50 years is not a short time period, many things will change. There might appear more colleges with high quality and with more capacities. For example, lets talk about my College in Nepal, Golden Gate College, this college was once a famous and many students do get attracted there because of dormitory services. But later after a decade it fails to maintain its number of students as at the same places there were couples of colleges being opened with the similar facilities. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if the argument was based on practical fact rather than imagination.

The argument readily points out that the students get attracted with the new dormitories in the campus. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correction between students and the new dormitories. Students do come to college to study but not to stay in the new dormitories. So, they give priority to quality education rather not cozy beautiful room. How can some students just get attract to the college because it has services of dormitories? If the argument has provided evidence that the college will bring up more qualified teacher along with the new dormitories then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that the students will face difficult to afford off-campus housing as the rent in the town is incrasing. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. To illustrate further, a different questions arises, how can we guarantee the students will love to have in cheap dormitories? Maximum of students might come from the rich background? The students love to enjoy the freedom outside the college rather than in the dormitory within the college. Without convincing answers to these question, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable research on the data of students and feedbacks from the students. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how the Buckingham college more better in the future and what weakness and strength of the college are now.