"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

In the reading, the author suggests that the university should build a number of new dormitories. As for reasons, the author claims that the increasing enrollment and the increasing rent price of houses nearby should be the determining factors. Additionally, the author suggests that the construction of new dormitory would attract more prospective students. However, the absence of important evidence make the suggestion less convincing.

Firstly, the author suggests the university should build new dormitory in order to meet the need of increasing students. However, the precise data of the enrollment and the increasing rate is missing as well as the current situation of dormitory in the campus. If the current enrollment number is small compared to the total student population in the campus or there are plenty of empty room in the dormitory, there are no necessity to build the new dormitory. Additionally, even assume the enrollment is of a considerable number, there is no guarantee that this trend would continue in the future.

Moreover, the precise price of the rent for near apartment is still missing as important as the the increasing rate of the rent. The price would be increasing in the low speed which is not a big deal to the student, and the original price might be too low. Similarly, the trend of increasing might not last long. All the possible situation discussed above make the increasing price of the rent of surrounding houses a irrelevant factor to the need to build the new dormitory.

Finally, the author failed to prove that the new dormitory would be appealing to the future students. There might be other deciding factors such as the academic ranking or the facilities of the campus as well as the intriguing program. Moreover, even it is true, it is not hard to prove that building a new dormitory means to attract more students, and more enrollments, means to build more dormitory, making it a doom circle.

To wrap it up, the author failed to prove a considerable number of evidence to endorse his suggestion. To strengthen his point of view, the number of current students and the increasing rate of enrollment as well as the price and the increasing rate of the rent nearby are in need.