Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

In the time of the internet, the spiritual demand of people is rapidly increasing. The art is no longer the privilege of nobles but the common subject accessible to everyone. However, There are controversies whether should the government involves into the art field and offer fundings to flourish this field. With a considerable amount of evidence, the conclusion could be drew that, with appropriate method, the funding from government could produce positive effects on various aspects.

First paragraph

To begin with, the investment of governments plays an essential role in building the museum, galleries and art schooles, help to spread the concept of art among the public. In China, nearly all the museum are built by the government and open to the public freely. Students also are supposed to visit at least two museums of different topic a year, which could help them to find their interest in the art field. Moreover, the art student who come from impoverished family background could be able to persue their dream with the help of the scholarship set by the government. In this sense, the funding of government contributes to the prosperity of the art.

Second paragraph

However, there are still serveral potienal integrity threatening problems. The possible corruption should be taken into consideration. The huge amount of funding to the art would lead the the potiental rent seeking problems, which means the official taking the charge would use their power to seek the kickback. Additionally, if the appraisal system of the government are different from the mainstream of the art field, some artists could change their style to get investment from government, which can be hardly called benefical in the long run. In China, the main income of laboraries in the university is the funding from government. In order to get enough budgets from the government, the director of laboraries tends to do researches which could produce the result, such as the paper in famous journals, in a short term instead of researches more meaningful but time-consuming. From the reason above, the funding of government could interfere the integrity of the art.

Third paragraph

From the advantage and disadvantage discussed above, a persuasive management of government funding in the art field is to invite the experts to form a committee to decide the usage of fundings. The experts in any field are the group of people who enjoy great reputations and wealth, which means low possibility of corruption. On the another hand, the experts knows the main stream of art fields, so the effectiveness of fundings could be guaranteed.

Ending paragraph

To sum up, the funding from government could produce various benefits to the development and prosperity of the art on the condition that there is a committee of experts supervising the usage of fundings. In this way, the government could help artists go further.