Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

In the age of the internet, the social media is in the heyday. The power of social media affects not only the public but also the celebrities by the exposure, which are at high frequency in various fields all over the world. At the same time, it is controversial that whether the scandals is beneficial to improve the social environment. From various evidence, we can see, in order to make scandals contribute to ameliorate the social environment, this double-edged sword should be constrained within a certain range.

The quantity and quality of scandals is the important effect determining factor. In this information era, everyone suffers from excessive information, resulting in the insensibility of the general public. Therefore, the quantity and quality of the scandal are the key indicators of its effect. According to a survey conducted in China by HZNU, 70% of students are insensitive to the scandals of actors and actresses, which can be interpreted as the result of an excessive amount of scandals in the entertainment industry. However, nearly 90% of students expressed their concern about a recent corruption scandal, which is rare and impactful to the public. Additionally, overexposures cause mutual harm to the public and the celebrities. The public could become numb to that unverifiable news and celebrities suffer from the lack of privacy. Therefore, scandals are beneficial provided that the frequency and the reliability of scandals are above a certain level.

The effects of scandals, in terms of the benefit and damage it could cause, are distinct in different fields. In some fields, the scandals could produce positive effects, while in certain fields, the release of scandals could be a calamity. For instance, the Watergate event in which the president Nixon was accused of wiretapping his opponents results in the first resignation of a U.S. Presidents. The following investigation reveals a considerable number of dark side of the USA politic at that time, which greatly ameliorated the comprehensive political environment. The scandal in charity fields, however, could result in a series of negative, even life-risking consequence. In China, people’s negative impression of red cross association from a corruption scandal lasts for years. The scandal ruined the credit of the red cross association and people refuse to donate blood for the consideration that It would not be used to help people in need, causing national insufficiency of blood. Therefore, the effect of scandal largely depends on the particular fields.

Last but not least, the fake scandal published by journalists who want to gain reputation can hardly produce the positive effect. In other words, the reality of scandals is essential, since the fake scandal is often suspicious and without solid evidence. People of the information age are less credulous than their parents. In today's BBS, the scandal would be penetrated within few days by the commenters by various evidence found in the internet. Therefore, only the scandal of credibility or high possibility could exist and produce enough impact on the public in the current world.

To sum up, whether the scandal can be useful should be estimated from different aspect including its fields, quality and quantity, and truthfulness. The scandal or the exposure is an intrinsic part of achieving justice and fairness of human society in the age of information, on the condition that it is limited to a modest range.