Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

In this fast-paced world, the high educational institutions face increasing problems more than ever. Among those problems, there is one that most students and institutions would pay attention with: Should the educational institution shoulder the obligation to set the requirement by which institutions could refuse those students not good enough? To some extent, it does make sense since it could indirectly enable unqualified students to find the appropriate field. However, it should be constrained within a reasonable range.

The educational institutions, such as universities, definitely should take the responsibility to guide the students' direction to a certain degree, which is the social responsibility of educators. In fact, universities in the USA do make attempt to guild their students by the course structure. In the first two years in the University of the USA, for the required courses, most students are only allowed to select common foundational courses in different major. At the same time, students have a great number of selective courses in different fields and majors, helping them find the majors that they are really interested in. Major transfers are also common and convenient. By this course structure, students could find their desired major and universities fulfill their social responsibility as guide the students.

Nevertheless, the final decision should be left to students since no one could easily define the standard of success. The baseline for success is sometimes ambitious. The public tends to access the success from various aspects such as fame, power, wealth and other things which can hardly be achieved by ordinary individuals. On the other hand, from people who are satisfied with their current working and living conditions, they are successful since they are doing what they like. Additionally, the key factor to success is hard to estimate. For instance, the interest and passion in a particular field could be a contributing factor. According to a survey conducted in China by the HZNU, along with those top students in the different major, 50% of them claim that the interest is the key supporting factor. Additionally, the following panel study reveals that students motivated by interests have comparatively higher average salary and position compared to other students, indicating the interest is an important boosting factor in their career. In this sense, it should be left to the student to make the decision of the suitable field.

Still, the appropriate guidance from educational institutions is essential to students. There are several situations could lead the student to the wrong field and waste their time and tuition. The impression from the outsider to a particular major, for instance, could be misleading. In China, Millions of students enter the medicine major with the dream of being a lifesaver. However, a considerable number of those students transferred to other majors in 2 years due to heavy academic pressure and bad working environment. As what mentioned before, offering necessary guidance is the social responsibility of educational institutions. In order to fulfill this commitment, the educational institution should brief student on the situation of a major prior to their admission.

To sum up, the educational institution should be in charge of the commitment to preclude students from choosing the improper major by introducing all the potentially appropriate fields to students and left the decision to students themselves. In this way, students could choose the right major and have a better career.