"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In the reading, the author suggests that the local television should restore the time rate of the weather and the national news to its previous level. The reason is the complaint come from the audience and the lose of support from local bussiness. However, the flaws and absence of the evidence makes the suggests less convincing.

Firstly, the author mentions the most complaits come from the viewer who has interest on the weather and local news. However, the total number of the complaint is unknown. If the total number is small, then those complaint can hardly represent the opinion of majority viewers. In this case, most viewers might feel good about this change and remain slient. Additionally, even if the number is large, the unclear rate of complaining reviewer can not be a determining factor to the evaluation of the change.

Secondly, the author fails to point out the relationship between the cancellation of the financial support and the increased time of national news. The local business might ceased the funding for other reasons. For instance, they find another television which is cheaper and could give a better return.

Finally, the author does not give the evidence to show that to restore the coverage of the weather and the national news to its former level would bring the audience and the patron back. The patron could have already found a better television to broadcast their advertisiment and the audience might find other information source of local news and the weather predition. To make things worst, this behavior might could cause the lose of current viewers.

To wrap it up, the manage does not provide more detailed information, making the suggestion less convincing. In order to strengthen this suggestion, more evident data on the number of complaints need to be shown, as important as the reason why the patron stopped funding and the evidence that the restoration could bring the supporter and the audience back.