In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

In this age of the technology, different fields are developing faster than ever. It becomes a common situation that old theories are toppled by the new one. Therefore, people begin to wonder, what is the right attitude towards all the past achievements. Trully, the past achievement could be proved to be flawed even totally mistaken if we view it from now. However, it is still valueable and could inspire people to make breakthroughs in many fields.

First paragraph

To begin with, one should know about all the achievements of a paticular field in the past to make significant achievements, since those achievements, even could be flawed or incomplete, were still brought with brilliant minds. Even these top genius need to stand on the shoulder of giants to look further. In the field of computer science, for example, a plenty of courses from the princle of computer, which is about the detail of hardwares, to the automata theory should be taken as the prequisite of the master degree and each of those courses are the result of hundreds experts' effort for several decades, making to impossible for a individual to understand how the computer works without those knowledge, let alone to make breakthroughs.

Second paragraph

However, the influence of past achievements could be a misleading factor in some certain knowledges. The classic controversy of Geocentric theory and heliocentric theory illustrates the former achievements could be obstacles in the way of making breakthroughs. In the eighteenth century, the mainstream theory of universe is that the earth is the center of the universy and the rest of stars revolves around the earth, which conflicts with the newly rised theory that the sun is the center of the university. Both theories are certainly mistaken from the perspective of the modern astronomy, yet the heliocentric theory are much closer from the truth. However, the contemporary public of that time are so obstinate at the geocentric theory and view the heliocentric theory as a heretic one.

Therefore, the influence of past achievements could not be always postive.

Third paragraph

Finally, what is the right attitude toward the former achievements? With all the knowledge we can drain from the former achievements, we should view those achivements as relative truth which is not the real truth but the truth people can find with limitation of their time. With the modest attitude and encourage to challenge the old theories with solid evidence, one could have higher possibility to make significant achievements of particular fields.