sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

the group will be helped more by a person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by a person

who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do

In the modern society, the group cooperation plays as an essential part in the peoples' daily life. However, the trend of cooperation also come with varieties of problems. Individuals in a group have different characteristics, and it brings the team benefits as well as conflicts between group members. The topic raised a question of the importance of different individuals in a group. From my perspective, among those various characteristics I prefer those people holding the different opinion to the majority of the group.

Different opinions are essential in group cooperation. There always are some hidden problems that cannot be aware of by others but those people who hold the suspect on everything. If those hidden problems are not found in the beginning, it could increase as the past of time, and ruin the whole plan in the end. Take the example in the programming; it is very normal for programmers to form a group to complete some projects. In the early stage of the project developing, some flaws slightly come into being. Those hidden flaw, if remain unnoticed, would cause unrecoverable damage to the whole project in the final review of the project. In this sense, people holding different opinion are essential in a programming group, and thus sometimes they are called code reviewer.

Moreover, the different opinion can improve the quality of the final product. The different idea among group members would lead the group discussion. In the history of programming, there are various discussions originated from the disagreement between ingenious developers, and most of them gave birth to one or more incredible programming tools which play an essential role in many aspects of our daily life.

It is true that there are other kinds of people who perform as a base-stone of a group. Nevertheless, those dissents in the group are more important, because it could be risky to be a heretic when the majority of the group are consent with the same idea.

In a nutshell, from those evidence I mentioned above, we can safely draw a conclusion that the people who always like to stand in the opponent position to the majority perform an essential function in a well-developed team. They are not those favored one. However, They do contribute to the whole group in their way.