Sometimes people are assigned to work in a group on a project.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The group will be helped more by a person who is willing to do what other group members want than by a person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the group wants to do.

Use reasons and examples to support your position.

People tend to work in a group as it would bring ample opportunities. However, group working along with its merits brings about some controversies; one of which is conflict. In this regard, some people believe that should all members of a group have identical opinions, the group will be far more successful. Nonetheless, others speculate that conflict is a necessity for a group to prosper. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter, and in what follows the reasons corroborating my viewpoint will be elaborated.

First and foremost, conflicting views may lead to prosperity not only for group members but also for project. Indeed, as long as the conflict is handled rightly, it may help the group to function properly. It stands to reason that the group in which each member can express its ideas easily is a great place to demonstrate how group members tolerate opposing opinions. Its members, as a result, may be able to acquire communication and social skills and gain invaluable experiences. In addition to members, owing to innovative ideas originating from confliction, the project may thrive, as well. To put it in another way, in the modern world, which creativity is of paramount importance, the more creative people are, the more profit they make.

Secondly, the individuals participating in the discussions arising in a group appear to enjoy notable features, including responsibility, courage, persistence, passion, and motivation, which will facilitate achieving success, thereby resulting in significantly boosting the whole group’s level of capabilities. To further explain, these types of people possess the ability to take bold decisions; consequently, they can play a prominent role in managing the group whether in critical circumstances or under normal ones. Psychological studies have indicated that the presence of individuals whose opinions differ from others’ views in a group contributes to the group success. They reveal it is due to the fact that they seem to be meticulous, and they tend to consider all facets of a proposed idea to make a decision.

On the other hand, although group conflicts to some extent result in desired outcomes, they should be dealt with inasmuch as they may become destructive and disintegrate the group. In fact, should incompatibility among group members be intensified, its detrimental consequences would eventuate to failure or even collapse. Therefore, all members are required to be aware of how to react in a dilemma. By and large, on account of the grounds subsequently mentioned in the previous paragraphs, advantages of confliction outweigh its disadvantages.

In conclusion, a group gains substantial benefits from confliction, included acquiring skills for its members and receiving innovative ideas for its project, which is eventually conducive to a successful team. Moreover, those members proposing different ideas are believed to be capable of handling arguments and even predicaments rather than others. Hence, it causes the level of the group’s abilities to grow remarkably.