When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project. (Agree/disagree?)

It is undeniable that individuals are constantly seeking ways to enhance the quality of their performance in the workplace or academic environment, yet they face various challenges. For example, it is questionable whether face-to-face communications or distance communications would lead to higher productivity. As far as I am concerned, remote connections would be highly beneficial to in-person ones. The reasons supporting my viewpoint will be elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason is that being in touch by email gives people the courage to express their opposing views. In other words, a golden opportunity is provided for them to state whatever they might think is helpful to the project. As a result, they may come up with innovative ideas. On the other hand, when people are obliged to directly communicate with someone, they may feel acute anxiety, and this may negatively affect their performance. My personal experience demonstrates this situation. Five years ago, when I was an undergraduate student, I was assigned a group project in Contemporary History class with two of my classmates. The first session of our meeting was a disaster; I could not cope with my anxiety, and each time that I intended to say my opinions, my tongue would become dry. After that, I recommended that our discussions take place by email. This worked great for me, causing me to gain my confidence and be able to freely state my perspectives. Consequently, our project became one of the best projects due to covering a wide variety of opinions regarding a political event in the past.

Secondly, written communications allow individuals to write a comprehensive report. Indeed, they can thoroughly think about every aspect in advance and then offer their comments in great detail, leading to a higher level of output. In this way, their comments would be more persuasive. However, in face-to-face interaction, each person has to present the answers to the spontaneous questions come in group members’ mind in the very moment. Therefore, they will not have adequate time to put forward a convincing solution. For instance, last year, my officemate and I had to perform a task together. I wrote a report in meticulous detail. However, she asked me to have a meeting because she would prefer to have a face-to-face talk. In the meeting, she was unable to provide any answers to my questions and eventually acknowledged that it could have been better if she had written her report and thought more carefully about the probable questions.

To conclude, I am of the firm belief that written communications can significantly boost the productivity of a team compared to meeting in-person. This is mainly because not only does it give team members the bravery to state their points of view, but they can also carefully assess any problems that may occur in the process of performing the project.