Some people think that we should keep away from others to improve our relationship because being away from people reminds us of how important they are. Others think that we should always stay with others to have good relationships because we can communicate with them more often. What do you think?

As a social human being, cultivating relationships is an inevitable part of our life. In this regard, some people, according to their attitudes, contend that maintaining some distances or short breaks, whereby people can realize how worthy their relationship is, is of great significance in relationships. Nonetheless, others’ view is that by staying always near the people with whom they want to have close bonds, they can be connected more frequent and foster strong ties. As far as I am concerned, the first option seems preferable, and in what follows, the reasons and examples corroborating my viewpoint will be elaborated.

First and foremost, being away from others provides a great opportunity for individuals to think thoroughly about their relationships, reminding them of the memories that have been forgotten. Take my personal experience as an example. My partner and I were in a predicament so that we found it difficult to tolerate living close together. As a result, we decided to live separately for a while to think more about the future of our relationship. In those days, I was consistently thinking about seconds of my life that could have been spent with him. I imagined myself in our home while we were talking about our daily events. I remembered how he was trying to help me when I embarked on writing my master’s thesis. At that time, every tiny detail in our relationship had become significant to me. Indeed, this short distance reminded me of his undeniable impact on my life and therefore motivated me to call him and try to recover our relationship. Thus, I realized that had not been away from him for a short period, I would not have been aware of how valuable he is for me, and even I would have ruined our loving relationship.

Furthermore, when people are always accessible in their relationships, they cannot find out how invaluable their presence is. Therefore, always staying with others not only does not strengthen their ties but also may prevent them from perceiving the merits of a wonderful relationship. As a case in point, before emigration to Canada, I had been living with my parents for about 22 years during which I was almost always in my bedroom either studying or chatting with my friends via my smartphone. I can remember a typical day in which my mother was preparing delicious meals for me while my father was going out to purchase my allergy medicine. Despite all of their kindnesses and considerations, I preferred spending time with my friends to spending it with my family. The situation has changed since I emigrated to a country far more away from my hometown. Owing to my emigration, I have found out how my family bonds are noteworthy. If there had not been any distance between us, I would not realize how their presence is impressive and that they are the most precious asset in my life.

In conclusion, I do believe that it is not a necessity to be always near the people with whom you desire to have a special bond. This is because short breaks not only can help you think deeply about your relationships but also can make you aware of the importance of others’ presence in your life by making a comparison in your mind between your current conditions and former ones.