The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

In the article, the author suggests The Monarch Book open a cafe. To support this view, the manager cites the benefit of a cafe to attract more customers as well as the necessary competition against the main rival in the local, the Regal Books. As for the room of the cafe, the manager suggest to cancel the children's book section. However, It might not work well and cause some unexpected results.

First, the manager failed to prove enough evidence to show opening cafe would attract more customers. If the cafe could be the appealing part of the BookStore, then this suggestion could be vaild. However, there is no obvious evidence suggesting the cafe would contribute to attract the customer. The locals might not like coffee, let alone going to the cafe. Additionally, The cost of decoration and payment for the waiters and the cook could be a considerable expense.

Additionally, closing the children's book section might incur the disappointment of children and their parents, leading the drop of the revenue. There could be a considerable number of children favor this book section, along with their parents. If the Monarch Book close the section for the cafe, children and their parents might turn to other book stores and cause the decreasing revenue of the book store.

What's more, the result of national census might not apply to this area. Since the census cover a broad area, including areas where there are of high percent of children under 10 years old in the total population and those areas in which the rate is low. Therefore, the national census cannot reveal the real situation of this area, nor the rate of children in the total number of customer. Additionally, Even if the percentage of the children under ten in surrounding area was dropped, it cannot guarantee the total number of children in this area would drop. Since the total population of children might rise while the rate of children drops.

Finally, the author overlooks other method to compete with the rival such as giving customers some discount in the special day. Those method would also help to gain more customers and save more budget at the same time.

To wrap it up, this suggestion is impractical for the absence of evidence that opening the cafe would attract the customer as well as misinterpretation of the result of national census and possible negative effect brought by cancellation of children's book section. To strength the reliability of this suggestions, detailed data about the possible increased number of customer should be cited as well as more solid evidence for the decrease of future children population to prove the necessary to remove the children's book section.