The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Books are the building blocks of any society and one must not undermine their importance.However the given argument is falwed because of it's many vague assumptions.

Firstly, the Monarch Books is ambiguously comparing the old trends with the current modern times.It assumes thet opening a cafe will increase the customer base.However, this is absurd assumption as time changes and so does the mindset of the customer also changes.Hence, it might be possible that the customers in past twenty years might have changed their habits, or might have migrated somewhere else:far distant neighbourhood. So we can see the clear ambiguity in the outcome of the move.

Adding to the argument Monarch Book also claims that they will discontinue the children book section based on just one survey that the population under ten has declined .Though it might be possible that due to the "knowledge demanding world" modern society parents might have persuaded their childern to read more books.Or in other words we cannot draw the entire conclusion based on just a survey.However, in order to conclude some argument the Monarch book store might consider refering to many increasing trends in the book reading society.Though that must not be the last thing on their list, they may also conduct their own survey based on their past twenty years experience.

And finally , the Monarch Books want to compete with the Regal books.This statement in itself is flawed as Monarch books are considering discontinuing the children section.However, their counterpart Regal Books might have childern section, there is a possibility also that their major customer base might be childern rather than adults.In this case Monarch books will have complete disadvantage over the Regal books.In the other words there is absolutely no surety that the Monarch Books will have more adult customers.

In conclusion I want to state that time changes and one must not see old times as the new trend as it always canges also the major decisions must not be based on just one survey instead it must be wide angled approach in considering such business decisions.