The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

In the article, the author suggests The Monarch open a cafe to attract the customer because of the newly opened cafe of a rival. However, There are some flaws and unwarranted assumption.

First, the manager failed to prove enough evidence to show opening cafe would attract more customers. The locals might not like coffee, let alone going to the cafe. Additionally, closing the children's book section might incur the disappointment of children and their parents, leading the drop of the revenue. What's more, the result of national census might not apply to this area. Even if the percentage of the children under ten in surrounding area was dropped, the total number of them might increase. Finally, the author overlooks other method to compete with the rival such as giving customers some discount in the special day.

To wrap it up, this suggestion is impractical for the absence of evidence that opening the cafe would attract the customer as well as misinterpretation of the result of national census and possible negative effect brought by cancellation of children's book section.