TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The ability to make new friend is important to an individual, since human are social animals, and any individual could not live without interaction with the society. However, the long lasted friendship could bring more happiness than the ability to socialize could.

Firstly, people tends to have more common topic with their old friends instead of new friends. When I and my old friends are together, we always could talk about interesting things happened in the past. For instance, last week, I met with my high school class mates and we talked about the basketball competition with another class in the school. Althrough we finally losed that match, it is hard to forget that feeling when we fight together. However, There could hardly be such topics with new friends. Given that talking about the old things could largely increase the enjoyment in the meeting, It could brings more happiness to be with old friends instead of meeting new friends.

Moreover, the old friends means higher loyalty. As an old saying goes:"a friend in need is a friend indeed", the help from friends when you are in trouble could be a great relief, and old friends could choose to stand by your side in any time. My uncle tried to establish his own company when he was about to graduate from the university and invited several his old friends as co-founder. They made a success in the begining and my uncle met several new friends to invest his company. However, due to that famous economical crisis in 2008, the company was bankrupted. Those new friends suddenly disappeared after they selled their shares while the old friends of my uncle continued to support him. In the most situation, the old friends are more reliable. Therefore, the ability to maintain the relationship with old friends could certainly bring more happiness.

It is true that the ability to meet new friends important since human are social animal and sometimes new friends means new oppotunities. However, without the ability to maintain friendships, making friends is meaningless since there would be low or no returns for the time you spent on socilizing if you do not have loyal allies and those oppotunities brought by so-called new friends could be the fraud.

To sum up, the abilities of maintaining the friendship is much essential compared to the ability to to make new friends. The same experience and loyalty of old friends could bring more happiness to one's life.