Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods a

In the reading, the author asserts that the new use of salicylates could contribute to the reduce of headaches among citizens of Mentia. This claim is based on several assumption which, if is not true, could make the conclusion an unwarranted one.

Firstly, the author assumes the salicylates could reduce the headache since salicylates is from the same chemical family as aspirin, which is used to treat the headaches. However, there is no guarantee that the drugs in the same chemical family could have similar effects. If this assumption was false, this flaw could topple all the following conclusion based on the effect of the salicylates to relief the headache, ruining the whole study.

Moreover, the finding of food-processing companies that the salicylates could be used as the flavor additives, asserted by the author, is one reason that the salicylates would reduce the headaches number in the Mentia. Nevertheless, this reason assume that a great number of the citizen would be the food produced by that food-processing company or the food processed by the technology which would add the salicylates as the flavor additives. Only in this way, in the condition that the salicylates could truly relief the headache, can the rate of headaches in the Mentia decrease. However, if the product containing the salicylates do not sell well in the Mentia, it can not make any help to reduce the local's headaches.

Finally, the author assume that by the new use of the salicylates, the rate of headaches would steady decrease. The conclusion is based on the salicylates's curing effects to the headaches. However, if the salicylates can not prevent the headaches, the rate of headaches among citizen would continue to rise. Additionally, the cause of headaches can hardly be monotony. Different factors such as the environment, the mental pressure, the diet would also cause headaches. Therefore we shall not assume the new use of the salicylates could contribute to the steady decline of headaches suffered by the citizens of Mentia.

To wrap it up, the author draws a conclusion based on several unwarranted assumptions. In order to enhance the reliability of the conclusion, the author need to provide more convincing proof of the curing effect of salicylates on the headaches, the real intake of food containing the salicylates by the average citizen of Mentia as well as the evidence that the salicylates could forestall the headaches.