TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Thank to the development of the modern technology, nowadays people can know various things happened in this world without even going out. There are plenty of people who like to read all those news and believe that they are all important. In contrast, from my perspective, I hold the counterargument that it is a waste of time to know about those event unlikely have the impact on our daily life.

i

To begin with, It is common situation that in the modern society, people spend a considerable number of time on the fragment reading, which means those partial and meaningless news such as the scandals of some celebrity. It could be totally a waste of time since knowing those information or not could produce little effect on one's daily life. To illustrate this idea, I would like to use the example of myself. I used to like reading the news about the economy or the foreign political scandals despite that it has no relationship with my daily life and like to debate with others about what is the right and what is the wrong. Several years pasted, and after many things, I found that this world is not only about the black and the white, but their mixture, the grey. I could be better if I use those time to study some political theory systematically. Therefore, I hold the opinion that knowing unimportant things could be a waste of time.

Another reason to endorse my view is that in the fast-paced society, no one have the time and energy to care about them. My father , for example, is a programmer in a IT company. Besides those programming books, he hardly read any news or hot post on the Weibo because he has spend a lot of effort on the work, and is too exhausted to read anything not important. As the result, I consent it is not important to read those news unrelated to our life.

It is partially reasonable for many people to hold the opinion that knowing unimportant things are essential since it is not easy to judge whether it could produce some effect on your life in the future, just like the economy crisis happened in the wall street which cause so many unexpected results. However, in my opinion, compared to spend time worrying about the unclear future, we should pay more attention to our daily life such as speeding time with our families . consequently, I still strongly believe that it is unimportant to know those trivial.

To wrap it up, at the first glance, It could be hard to choose my side, especially given the complicated situation in the real world,. Nevertheless, after deeply consideration, I would like give my support to the view that it is not important to know things which is unlikely to produce any effect on your life.