A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In the modern age, the education plays an important role in the individual career. The national curriculum is common in countries all over the world. From my position, while admitting the necessity and benefits of the national curriculum, I believe it could cause several negative effect on the student.

Firstly, the national curriculum does provide benefit for the students. One benefits is to enlighten the children and provide solid basement for further study. Since a national curriculum are usually designed by experts from various aspects of the society, it provides elemental knowledge structure such as basic algebra or English grammar, for further study on any particular field, which can be hardly replaced by any other form of education. Additionally, the national curriculum also offers a simple standard to evaluate the students academic abilities, regardless of their class, family background and races. Simple and blunt as it is, however, it still save great resource on selecting the proper student to enter higher education institute.

However, problems are still remain in the national curriculum for several negative effect caused by it. To begin with, an uniform evaluating standard to all the student could reduce the diversity among the student. The reason lies in the fact that given the monotony standard only suppose good score in some particular subject, students would pay great effort to those subjects without considering their own interested field. To make things worst, even if they reject to subordinate those standards, their parents would push them to do so in order to let their kids have a bright future. In this way, the diversity among student could greatly reduce, just as the university students in the China where the GaoKao, a higher education examination, has determinate power on selecting eligible students to university. Since the national curriculum do not help the student to find the field they like, many student might lost themselves in the campus.

To compose the advantage and disadvantage of the national curriculum, educators should come up with a solution in which the national curriculum performs still as the foundation of the education whereas the diversity of students remain to be an important feature among the students. For example, In USA, the high school students are enable to choose their optional courses besides the subjects. They also have comparative low academic pressure, making it possible to research in the field they are interested in after class.

To warp it up, it is hard to choose the side at the first glance, especially given the complicated situation in the real world. Yet after consideration, I give my opinion as the national curriculum is necessary in the condition that the diversity among students is guaranteed.