Argument Type - Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to bo

Essay topics

In the reading, the author suggests that the diet contains dairy products might increase possibility of osteoporosis, because of the result of an experiment indicating the relatively high rate of people with the high-dairy diet who have the bone fractures compared compared to people who do not eat dairy-rich food. However, the absence of several evidence weakens its credibility.

The author suggests that the people who eats high dairy food, according to the result of the experiment, are more likely to suffer from bone fractures, and since the bone fractures are one of symptoms of osteoporosis, the dairy diet would increase the possibility of osteoporosis. However, this assertion failed to prove that the high dairy diet cause the increase risk of osteoporosis. The reason lies in the fact that the bone fractures, one of the osteoporosis's symptoms, could be triggered by other diseases rather than the osteoporosis. Therefore those subjects might not suffer from the osteoporosis, leave alone the idea that the high dairy food would lead to the osteoporosis.

Moreover, the sample number and the average age of the participants are missing, making the conclusion less convincing. As the reading mentioned, the risk of osteoporosis increase as one grows older, so the age of different groups, let us call the high dairy diet group and low dairy diet group, is a determining factor. If the high dairy diet group are more older than the low dairy diet group, say the former is averagely 20 years older than the latter, the conclusion would be flawed since it overlooked the difference between the age distribution of two groups. Additionally, the author only pointed out the number is very large, yet we do not know the exact number of the samples.

Finally, the author failed to constrain the factors which could cause great effect on the result. The evidence of similar life style of the participants is absent in the reading, while it could be a decisive factor to the result. The people who like exercise could have distinct health condition compared to those people who sit all the day in the office. Without constraint on the participants' life style, the experiment result is dubious.

To wrap it up, the missing of several crucial evidence in the reading make the conclusion groundless. In order to strengthen the reading, more evidence about the relationship between the bone fracture and the osteoporosis are needed, as well as the the detail of the experiments such as the exalt participating number and the range and the average of the age of different group. Finally, other important factors such as the life style of the participants should be provided, since without that, the result could be flawed.